What I’ve Been Doing All Week

Exams

This is what I’ve been doing every night this week– tabbing M’s law books for his exams. This is just one of his books– and those tabs are written on both sides.

As my hand was cramping up from writing such tiny letters, I wondered how much help this could actually be since there ended up being a tab on almost every single page, sometimes several tabs on one page… but he said it helps a lot. Each exam is about 3 1/2 hours of non-stop writing, and even then they don’t always have time to finish. Any kind of time saver helps a lot apparently. I’m just glad it’s not me taking the exam… I’ll be content with putting tabs on pages. (o:

He is taking his last Final Exam right now as I write this post. I can hardly believe we actually made it through this semester. With his illness in the Fall, and the school’s strict attendance policy, I wasn’t sure if we would make it through law school at all. God has been very good to us, and has answered a lot of prayer. Thank you to those who have been praying with us.

5 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Doing All Week

  1. God gave you the patience to tab and M the patience to learn it all! Good Luck M, we know you don’t need it. How relieving to have yet another semester down…!

    Hope you all have a wonderful Christmas. We’re headed to NY on Monday and I won’t be checking in much.

  2. Thanks, Ursula. There’s no such thing as luck, but even if there was, God would control it!

    I am very grateful your well-wishing, and I assure you, I am completely dependent on God’s kindness just to get up in the morning, much less accomplish anything worthwhile. As David said in one of his prayers to God, “There is no good in me but Thee!”

    Ditto that. If anything good comes from my muddled and puny efforts, it is God’s work, not mine. I am deeply grateful for the prayers.

    ~Bon Dufus

  3. how great of you to tab his books! but as far as tabbing is concerned, they are not that helpful to me when i tab so many pages. it’s good for making a particular section stand out but are more of a burden when they are plentiful – who wants to flip through tabs when they are stressed and trying to write as much as they can in a short space of time? then again – since that seems to be the trend – i guess i stand alone in this regard.
    i am glad to read that everything has worked out so well for you. God is good all the time, definitely.

  4. Hey Tricia,

    I had the same thought about tabs, but I came up with a way to make it useful. My wife was kind enough to color code them, and I put a subject list in the code book with the secs and subsecs grouped under syllabus topics. It worked pretty good. There were some topics that blind-sided me, and without the tabs, I wouldn’t have had a chance. I hope your exams went well.

    M.A.B.

Leave a Reply

