Ears

Ear01

I have been having a problem with my ears for months. It started early Spring this year where I woke up one day and could hardly hear a thing. My ears were plugged up, but it seemed like things that were further away were louder and would echo through my head making it even more difficult to hear people talking. It was unbelievably difficult to carry on a conversation, or even function normally for that matter.

It has gotten a lot better since then, but I don’t think my ears are completely back to normal yet. That belief was affirmed when I found these questions listed in an article in Real Simple magazine. Supposedly, if you answer 3 or more of these questions with a “yes” then you should have your hearing evaluated.

  • Do you have a problem hearing over the telephone?
  • Do you have trouble following a conversation when two or more people are talking at the same time?
  • Do people complain that you turn the television up too high?
  • Do you have to strain to understand conversations?
  • Do you have trouble hearing in noisy places?
  • Do you often ask people to repeat themselves?
  • Do people you talk to seem to mumble?
  • Do you misunderstand what others are saying and respond inappropriately?
  • Do you have trouble understanding the speech of women and children?
  • Do people get annoyed because you misunderstand what they say?

Well, I answered “yes” to seven of these questions. I told M that I’ll have to get a hearing aid that looks like a blue-tooth ear piece so that people will think I’m cool rather than being handicapped.

Isn’t that strange how that works? Silliness.

Leave a Reply

