Sally the Earthworm

june13-worm002-2.jpgjune13-worm002-1.jpg

Here is R with the earthworm that she found in the backyard earlier this week. She named him Sally, and played with it for a loonnng time. She’s afraid of so many things, but when it comes to animals and bugs, she just loves them. She picks up bugs and plays with them all the time. She would probably even put them in her mouth if I didn’t stop her!

Last week, she and her sister were running around catching lightning bugs at dusk. R would catch one in her hand and start yelling, “Mommy, I got one!” while shaking all over with excitement. She’s so cute.

Anyway, here is a little video clip of her with her earthworm. In the beginning of the video, she is talking about how she and her Papa found an earthworm over in another part of the yard on a different day, and now she has one in her hand.

“Wasn’t he pretty?” she says. “He likes me.”

2 thoughts on “Sally the Earthworm

  1. That reminds me of when me, Bea & Pete were little and we’d camp out in the backyard in the summers and catch lightning bugs in jars and keep them in our rooms and watch them. Teague used to love those bugs that look like armadillos that you find under rocks-he used to call them Henry Bugs, because he named the first one he saw Henry. I miss those days!

  2. That’s so sweet. My mom tells a story about me about that age running in, so excited, to show them a huge grasshopper. I was going on and on abut how cute it was and kissing it on it’s head. I find that hard to believe, but, my mom doesn’t make stuff up – so must be true. You’ll probably be telling these stories years to come – and you have pictures to back them up! :-)

Leave a Reply

