Sweet Tea – Disclosed!

My sister asked in her comment on my last post “Just exactly HOW do you make sweet tea, anyway?”. I expect I’ll be pummeled by a gang of true Southern ladies and hung from a tree by my big toes for doing this, but here it is…


Southern Sweet Tea

6 cups water
4 family-size tea bags — or 8 regular sized bags (I use Luzianne)
1 – 1 1/2 cups sugar

Bring 6 cups of water to a boil in a saucepan and add the tea bags. Boil for 1 minute then remove from heat. Cover and steep for 10 minutes. Remove tea bags.

Add sugar, stirring until dissolved. Pour into a 1-gallon pitcher, and add enough water to fill the pitcher. Let chill in fridge and serve over ice.

tea-usa.jpg

By the way, I am NOT dramatic and I don’t embellish stories either. 

3 thoughts on “Sweet Tea – Disclosed!

  1. Interesting. I am right outside the only yellow (“yeller”) part of Texas on that map. Maybe that’s why they just serve regular tea in restaurants. I always order a coke.

    (BTW, in Texas, “coke” = “soda” and “Coke” = “Coke”.)

  2. That’s another thing I learned when I moved to the South. Everything carbonated (except for water) is “Coke”. And Pepsi is not an acceptable substitute for real Coke.

  3. Ugh, no! Pepsi! :( If I go to a restaurant that has Pepsi products I always get lemonade or maybe root beer. Or Dr. Pepper, since everyone seems to have that.

Leave a Reply

