Katrina

I didn’t think it would be as bad as it is… not even close to how bad it is. The day that the hurricane hit, there wasn’t a whole lot on the news about it– at least not here. But then the next night M and I looked at hundreds of pictures online of the complete devastation. I was shocked. I’m still shocked.

I can’t even imagine what the people from there are going through right now. Dead bodies – sewage – no water – no food – no power – no gasoline – nothing to their names, and nowhere to live.

You hear of catastrophes happening in other countries, and it’s obvious that it would be difficult or impossible to help (other than donating money), but I keep thinking about how close all of these people are to me. I supposed it would be about a 12 hour drive from here. They’re so close!… and still… what can I do?

I asked M if he would drive down there this weekend and bring someone back with him. (Wouldn’t you be grateful?) He convinced me (kind-of) that we just could not do that right now. I’m sure he’s right. It cost $52 to fill up our gas tank today, etc.

Well, my idea sounded good… not so simple though as I first hoped.

Prayer.

2 thoughts on “Katrina

  1. i know how you feel. that was my first reaction. give some kids a vacation in beautiful new hampshire.

    right now our house is filled with flowers. we ate by candlelight last night NOT because we had to. i woke up in a clean bed, listened to the radio while i made a hot breakfast and lunches for school. used a working toilet. we can walk almost everywhere we need to from home, but i can afford the gasoline and we drive when it is most convenient.

    when things like katrina happen, you get a new perspective. i’m feeling very fortunate right now.

  2. I wish we knew more people here so that we could get something started. It’s amazing that though those poor people are a few hours away, it’s light years comparatively because of nature. We have cable, and it’s hard to watch coverage, but I just can’t seem to turn it off sometimes. I’m amazed by nature’s fury, but astounded by the dark side of man (and woman) that seems to be exploding from moment to moment.

    What I wanted to do at my old job after the tsunami (sadly, there was a fussbudget in the way of every good idea) was to have a big water jug out and everyone drop their spare change in there when they had it. Pennies add up. Maybe you can put some flyers out in your neighborhood or go door to door to collect change and donate it to someone like Caravan of Hope or the Red Cross.

    What saddens me is that amidst the death and loss of property, there are people out there looting and killing each other out of desperation and/or because there are no consequences right now to their actions. Why do you need a flat screen tv when it will be months before there is power to the city (New Orleans) and it could be years before it’s inhabitable again. I hope that religious leaders also descend upon the devastated areas to bring faith back, to bring back hope.

    It’s amazing how our problems pale in comparison. Faith, strength and courage will make it right in time.

Leave a Reply

